Work Experience

Day 1

On my first day of work experience, I visited Bloom Creative studios to meet Andy Skillen. Bloom Creative is a freelance work business ran by Dario and Andy. I was shown around the studio to see their work environment and the equipment they use. Throughout the day, I was taking down some notes about them and how they usually do their client based work.

Notes

  • Building up your own studio with another experienced work partner.
  • Freelance Work: Doing client based work for many companies on the Isle of Man’s and other countries too. Such as designing logos, editing videos for showreels and adverts for different companies.
  • Sometimes you have to question your client weather his vision would suit his/her targeted audience.
  • Get detailed information of what your client wants for their project.
  • Set deadlines for yourself.
  • Review your work constantly to see if it looks good enough.
  • Always get feedback from your partner.
  • Match your work to the client’s needs.

Studio set-up20180307_134455

20180307_134457

Software Programs

These are the software programs they use to produce their work.

  • Adobe After FX
  • Adobe Premier Pro CC
  • Cinema 4D
  • Edius

Equipment

  • Graphics Tablet
  • Apple Mac Monitors
  • 20 TB Hard Drives
  • Lumix Cameras
  • Speakers
  • Note/Sketch Books

 

Day 2

How The Company Works

  • The team works together by giving each other some feedback on their projects and what project work needs to be improved.
  • Talking about client’s work, deadlines and other businesses.
  • Researching stuff to help generate ideas for their work. Such as logo designs, tutorials and show reels

What We Did For The Day

  • Me, Dario and Andy were working on our own projects in the studio.
  • Getting to know each other.
  • Having conversations about our own personal interests.
  • Downloaded Adobe Animate to just get use to the program.

 

Final Day

Andy set me up a little task to practice using Adobe Effects CC to make my own animated video.

  • Once I downloaded Adobe After Effects, I was told to do some online research on video tutorials on Videocopilot.net or Youtube.
  • Since most of Videocopilot’s tutorials required me to have a plugin for After Effect, I ended up using Youtube for this research instead.

I used this video tutorial to guide me through the process of developing my own text to a sand transition video.

Process

Screenshots

Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 10.56.22

  • Trying to recreate the early version of the particle effects for the text’s transition.

Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 11.53.25

  • Once I finished editing the particle effects, I then followed one of the final steps of the video by adding in a sand texture effect to the transition layers.

Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 12.24.01

  • I wanted to make sure the particle effects transition along well while the text layer fades out.

Final Outcome

After watching this video a few times, I thought that I recreated transitioned text really well. This was all done from learning and following instructions shown in this video tutorial.

My Thoughts During Work Experience/Evaluation

I really enjoyed my experience at Bloom Creative, by meeting new people and getting to know more about them. It was interesting to see how freelance company functions and what software and equipment is used to produce client based work. I also thought that being in a chilled work environment and teaching yourself new skills definitely brings a positive impact on your work. This is how I felt during my short stay there.

Leave a comment